Welcome

Forgot Password?
Sent XSGamers a gift!
Via our PayPal.me page!
Donations are welcome!

Donate

Recent Donations
Jules
£10.00 GBP
20th Jan 2016
boldface
€10.00 EUR
19th Mar 2015
Ezrail
€10.00 EUR
19th Mar 2015
boldface
€10.00 EUR
26th Jan 2015
Alamirian
£10.00 GBP
18th Jan 2015
Next »
Online Members
None
Online Guests: 8
TeamSpeak 3 Status
What are your PC specs, and how's your FPS
Forum » MMO's » WildStar
Tapsumbong 20th May 2014

Joined: 2nd May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 16
Likes 3



Oops just deleted my original thread by mistake...thankfully I had CtrL+C'd my original wall of text..

Currently we know that Wildstar isn't optimized as well as it could be, however various threads on the official forums have some people claiming wonderful fps, others with similar systems claiming bad fps, and just about anyone with an AMD processor whining and crying and threatening to quit etc etc..

Generally speaking, I don't take most of what I read on the official forums seriously, and I can't be bothered to examine people's post history to try and decide whether they're a speaking truthfully or just trolling because they have nothing better to do.  

I do however have faith that the WEIRDOS here can give some honest feedback!

Currently I have a 2.66ghz Intel Q9400 core duo processor, Radeon HD6870, and 4gbs ram.  I've been playing with all settings on low except render resolution which I have on normal (surprisingly changing it to low or ultra low makes no difference at all).  Sliders are all the way to the left.  

I tend to get between 30 and 60 fps, in towns sometimes I go as low as 10-20.  It's not the worst in the world, and it's playable, but as I haven't tried any PVP, dungeons or raids, and I have no idea how my PC will perform in those situations.  

So, WEIRDOS, what are your PC specs, and how's the game been performing for you?  

Have you tried PVP, warplots, dungeons, raids, and if yes, did your system take it in its stride or did it grind to a halt like a Citroen 2CV going up a steep hill with a family of Granoks in it?
TeaTimes 20th May 2014

Joined: 18th Feb 2014
Rank: XSGamer
Posts: 134
Likes 131



My FPS was usually around 40 but since I deleted that folder (somewhere in another thread here) it's between 40 to 60.
Sometimes it still drops to around 20 (Without any explanation.. nothing especially challenging) and it doesn't handle smoke and stuff really well (though I think that was because of the lack of optimising)

Playing on Ultra settings (Though changing the settings to Medium doesn't really make a difference). With 2 Monitors (WildStar running on the 1920x1200 one)..

CPU: i7-3770 - 3.4GHz
RAM: 16 GB
GPU: GeForce GTX 670


WildStar: Lyril Thilley (Human Medic Explorer)

There's no pattern to the pebbles here. They're completely random. I tried to count them, but you drove too fast. Hummingbird.

Frostglade 20th May 2014

Joined: 8th Feb 2014
Rank: WildStar Officer
Posts: 376
Likes 282



I'm playing on a desktop with a 4.2 GHz i7 2600k, (an overheating) GeForce GTX 570 and 16 GB of 1600 MHz DDR3.

Depending on the area I usually get between 20 and 90 FPS. The worst so far has been Galeras, which is the one at the 20-30 FPS range, even on low settings. I mostly run the game in high settings, except stuff like shadows, which are on low, since they cause quite a hefty drop in FPS (from low to high is about 20 FPS).

So far I've only tried battlegrounds, dungeons, adventures, cities and open world.

EDIT: Oh, forgot to add that I've also got a laptop with i7 4700HQ at some clock, GTX 860M and 16 GB RAM. It pretty much runs the game as well as, if not better than, my desktop.


"It will be happened, it shall be going to be happening, it will be was an event that could will have been taken place in the future." - Arnold J. Rimmer

TeaTimes 20th May 2014

Joined: 18th Feb 2014
Rank: XSGamer
Posts: 134
Likes 131



QuoteEDIT: Oh, forgot to add that I've also got a laptop with i7 4700HQ at some clock, GTX 860M and 16 GB RAM. It pretty much runs the game as well as, if not better than, my desktop.
Got the same Laptop.. though for some reason I'm getting a bit lower FPS with the same settings.. That would be 40-45 (in Housing) with the game on Medium.


WildStar: Lyril Thilley (Human Medic Explorer)

There's no pattern to the pebbles here. They're completely random. I tried to count them, but you drove too fast. Hummingbird.

Nelim 21st May 2014

Joined: 5th May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 96
Likes 23



My spec:
Amd Radeon 7950
I5 3690?! ( cant remember not at home)
16 gb ram

Used to be 30, now it sits at 40-50 and doesn't drop any lower


Scott 21st May 2014

Joined: 28th Jan 2014
Rank: XSG Admin
Posts: 334
Likes 50



i7 4770K @ 3.5Ghz
16 GB DDR3
AMD 290X 4GB

Running everything on MAX Settings at 1080P Res getting between 30-50 FPS

But I am sure there is still lots of Optimizations to be done on the Graphics Dept by WS and by Nvidia and AMD once the game is in the wild and launched.


Nelim 21st May 2014

Joined: 5th May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 96
Likes 23



Ow oops, also running all on max settings.


Tapsumbong 21st May 2014

Joined: 2nd May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 16
Likes 3



Thanks all for your responses, I think it may be time for me to stop being a cheapskate and get a new system! Let's hope they can get some solid work done on the optimization before head start.
Nelim 21st May 2014

Joined: 5th May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 96
Likes 23



Most of optimization is done in the last course before launch. I've played lots of online games on 70-80 fps and I have hope this one will aswell since they made their own engine.


Tapsumbong 21st May 2014

Joined: 2nd May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 16
Likes 3



QuoteMost of optimization is done in the last course before launch. I've played lots of online games on 70-80 fps and I have hope this one will aswell since they made their own engine.

...

Yea I really hope so too.  I think I'll just focus on leveling up where framerate isn't so important, and if there are still issues by the time I get to 50 then I'll treat myself to something like a 4670k with a 780 or 290x

Nelim 21st May 2014

Joined: 5th May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 96
Likes 23



Quote...

Yea I really hope so too.  I think I'll just focus on leveling up where framerate isn't so important, and if there are still issues by the time I get to 50 then I'll treat myself to something like a 4670k with a 780 or 290x
...
CPU is most important so that should be first always for MMOs



TeaTimes 21st May 2014

Joined: 18th Feb 2014
Rank: XSGamer
Posts: 134
Likes 131



Quote...
CPU is most important so that should be first always for MMOs
From my experience with computers (at work and for gaming) the CPU on high end computers is only used in animation and especially HD animation. So mostly while designing games.

For the actual game (mostly) CPUs are a bit bored while your GPU is at 100 % usage if you only have one. (No idea about 2 but I think they're usually pretty high at usage as well because of their coordinating stuff)

So GPU is the most important part. After that I'd actually say RAM since it's cheaper compared to a CPU and so easier to get.

Corwen just told me about a post on the WildStar forums in which they said they're not using the CPU to optimum yet. But I'll let him post that.


WildStar: Lyril Thilley (Human Medic Explorer)

There's no pattern to the pebbles here. They're completely random. I tried to count them, but you drove too fast. Hummingbird.

Frostglade 21st May 2014

Joined: 8th Feb 2014
Rank: WildStar Officer
Posts: 376
Likes 282



QuoteThings are a little crazy as you can imagine right now so don't take a lack of response for a lack of reading.

On the AMD CPU side (and Intel even) we have a strong suspicion players CPUs are not running at maximum frequency at times due to how we spread out our threads across all your cores (yes we do use every single core you have even if you don't think we do). The spreading out of work can cause a lot of the cores to not be doing a lot of work and ultimately the operating system and/or hardware controller determines what the actual running clock speed of your cores are. If the cores are seen as not busy it has no problem clocking them down thus slowing everything down. We're pretty sure that in particular we're seeing this issue with AMD and to a lesser extend with Intel.

We're working on some testing internally to see if we can send a better "hint" to your computer to tell it... No really use all of your power when running this game. Anyway a couple things to try out during Ops Week for players having low FPS due to CPU constraints.

1) Check your operating system power settings and make sure that the OS is not allowed to lower your CPU speed
2) Make sure you don't have any 3rd party software allowed to dynamically modify your CPU clock speed (ie AMD Cool'N'Quiet' ) etc.


At this time I do not have an update to provide regarding ATI video cards, I will try to provide an update when I can.


"It will be happened, it shall be going to be happening, it will be was an event that could will have been taken place in the future." - Arnold J. Rimmer

Nelim 21st May 2014

Joined: 5th May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 96
Likes 23



For anyone who's intrested (seeing this is a FPS section, most readers would want to know) this is someoe who got a major boost in FPS!

http://www.reddit.com/r/W ... over_the_last_patch/


Tapsumbong 22nd May 2014

Joined: 2nd May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 16
Likes 3



QuoteFor anyone who's intrested (seeing this is a FPS section, most readers would want to know) this is someoe who got a major boost in FPS!

http://www.reddit.com/r/W ... over_the_last_patch/

...

I finally succumbed to my temptations and ordered a new PC, 4670k, 8gb ram, 120gb SSD, 780ti, + windows 64-bit!  Pretty reasonably priced at £930, and ETA for arrival is 28th May, just in time to get Wildstar installed for head start!

Time to research and see if I'll need to re-download the whole game or can just do a quick copy over from my old rig...

Nelim 22nd May 2014

Joined: 5th May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 96
Likes 23



Quote...

I finally succumbed to my temptations and ordered a new PC, 4670k, 8gb ram, 120gb SSD, 780ti, + windows 64-bit!  Pretty reasonably priced at £930, and ETA for arrival is 28th May, just in time to get Wildstar installed for head start!

Time to research and see if I'll need to re-download the whole game or can just do a quick copy over from my old rig...
...
Wow thats awesome, Gratz!



Tapsumbong 22nd May 2014

Joined: 2nd May 2014
Rank: --
Posts: 16
Likes 3



Quote...
Wow thats awesome, Gratz!
...

Thanks   Just hope Wildstar doesn't tank now as it's the only game I have any interest in playing!!!

Last Edit: 23rd May 2014 by Tapsumbong
Forum » MMO's » WildStar
Please login or register to reply.
Events
« Aug 2017 »
M
T
W
T
F
S
S
 
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
 
 
Twitter
Birthdays
Frostglade
28 years old 31st Aug
Mystydawn
57 years old 24th Sep
Follow XSGamers

Facebook YouTube TwitchTV Twitter

Twitch
MrYiff Offline
Game: ArmA III
Pobinski Offline
Game: Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
GeekByte Offline
Game: Elite: Dangerous
XSGamers Offline
Game: The Lord of the Rings Online